The Department is home to approximately 800 undergraduate majors and over 40 graduate students. They study with 26 faculty who are well known scholars in various fields and who are amongst the most honored teachers at this university. We provide a vibrant place to study and a perfect place to prepare for a career in a variety of fields.

Faculty Highlights

Dr. Pearce Edwards is a recipient of the APSA Democracy & Autocracy Section's Best Article Award for 2024: "International Sports Events and Repression in Autocracies: Evidence from the 1978 FIFA World Cup," published in the American Political Science Review (with co-authors Adam Sharpe and Christian Gläßel).

Dr. Yann Kerevel received a 2024 LSU Distinguished Faculty Award recognizing his excellence in teaching, research, and service. He is also being awarded the APSA Legislative Studies Section's 2024 Richard F. Fenno Jr. Prize for his book, Working Class Inclusions: Evaluations of Democratic Institutions in Latin America (co-authored with Tiffany Barnes and Gregory Saxton, published by Cambridge University Press).

Dr. Kathleen Searles has been named as a 2023 LSU Rainmaker Mid-Career Scholar.

Dr. Jas Sullivan is the recipient of the 2023 LSU Distinguished Faculty Award and a 2023 HSS Diversity Committee Excellence in Teaching Award.   

Graduate Highlights

Graduate student, Cana Kim, has been awarded an LSU Dissertation Fellowship for the Academic Year 2022-2023 for her dissertation titled, "Foreign State Images and Public Opinion toward Public Policy."


Academic Counseling

Use the following links for guidance:

Political Science Majors

Political Science Minors

Honors Program

Internship Program

Political Science Major Requirements

  • 33 hours of political science courses
    • At least 18 of them 3000 or above
    • POLI 2051 American Government;Plus one course (any course) each in the three other fields
      • Comparative Politics;
      • International Politics
      • Political Theory