Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics


Dr. Smith             The Dr. Charles M. Smith Chair of Medical Physics was created in 2006 through the generosity of a gift from LSU alumnus, Dr. Charles M. Smith. Dr. Smith graduated from LSU in 1951 and from the LSU Medical School in New Orleans in 1955. He practiced family medicine for 35 years in Sulphur, Louisiana. Dr. Smith’s passion for quality patient care and his strong desire to make an impact on cancer treatment in Louisiana led him to support the Medical Physics Program.

Dr. Smith’s contribution was matched by funds raised through the 2004 Mary Bird Perkins capital campaign. In 2007, the Smith Chair received additional funding from the Louisiana Board of Regents Support Fund. This endowment provides funds annually that are used to support graduate student research, to seed new research directions, and for other Program needs.

In 2007, Professor Kenneth R. Hogstrom was the inaugural recipient of the Smith Chair. The Smith Chair is currently held by Dr. Wayne Newhauser, Professor and Director of the Medical Physics Program.