SCI Lead

SCI Lead is a student council within the College of Science, which assists students in developing professional, leadership, and communication skills while advancing diversity and inclusion. Our members participate in a variety of professional and community opportunities, that are designed to help students network with others in their field and prepare them for a career in science.

Our goal is to support professional skill development through creative thinking, leadership training opportunities and community outreach, while also helping students establish their professional identities.

Members of SCI Lead receive the following opportunities during their time within the council:

  • Participate in a Leadership Learning Laboratory
  • Collaborate with fellow members to implement programs and events for the LSU and Baton Rouge Community
  • Contribute to the development and implementation of leadership training opportunities and outreach activities for their peers

SCI Lead is sponsored by Chevron


Meet the Members

Name Classification Area of Study
Grace Brandhurst Senior Biochemistry, Philosophy
Nina Colegrove Junior Biological Sciences - Secondary Education
Connor Couvillon Sophomore Biological Sciences
Darryl Higgins Sophomore Biological Sciences
Jason Huang Senior Biological Sciences - Secondary Education
Skylar Mancuso Senior Biological Sciences
Maci Mannina Junior Microbiology
Nita McCulla Sophomore Microbiology
Zahra Vafaei Naeini Senior Biological Sciences
Sadman Sobhan Raabith Sophomore Physics - Astronomy
Tammy San Senior Microbiology
Dykia Williams Sophomore Biological Sciences



Name Area of Study Years Active
Zarafshan Gulam-Ali Biological Sciences 2019-2020
Daniel Brignac Computational Mathematics 2018-2019
Ethan Burnett Biological Sciences 2018-2021
Eduardo Chamah Biological Sciences 2019-2021
Onesty Culpepper Biological Sciences 2019-2021
Shatiyana Dunn Chemistry 2018-2020
Rory Escobedo Geology 2019-2020
Kiara Ferrygood Mathematics 2018-2020
Haley Gagliano Biological Sciences 2018-2020
Imogen Hoffman Chemistry 2018-2021
Willie Hurst Microbiology 2018-2019
Bailey Hutzler Astrophysics 2018-2019
Adrianna Jones Biological Sciences 2018-2020
Abby LeBlanc Biological Sciences 2021-2022
Samantha Lee Biological Sciences 2018-2021
Anna Leyrer Biological Sciences 2021-2022
Salim Lutfallah Chemistry 2019-2020
Brooke Mendoza Mathematics 2019-2020
Ashley Merriweather Chemistry 2018-2019
Dipika Nagliya Biological Sciences 2018-2019
Calli Nguyen Biological Sciences,
Interdisciplinary Studies
Joshua Nguyen Chemistry 2018-2021
Cody Orvin Biological Sciences 2019-2022
Nathan Pearl Biological Sciences 2018-2020
Aaliyah Robinson Biological Sciences 2021-2022
Claudia Rodriguez Biological Sciences 2019-2020


Contact Us

Dr. Zakiya Wilson-Kennedy, LSU College of Science

Dr. Zakiya S. Wilson-Kennedy
Associate Dean for Diversity & Inclusion, College of Science
Associate Professor of Research, Chemistry Education

Louisiana State University
124 Hatcher Hall, Baton Rouge, LA 70803


Mwembezi Nyelele, LSU College of Science SCI Lead

Mwembezi Nyelele
Graduate Assistant
College of Science
Office of Diversity & Inclusion